Creating a Photographic Record of Your Story

Hi everyone … today I’m going to share a couple of tips with you about creating a photographic record of your story. Each of us has a story to tell. We may or may not feel it has any importance or is of any interest … but someone one day will be interested.

If you don’t know me, I’m a photographer by profession. I have my daughers and grandchildren who are very familiar with looking at the front of my camera and sometimes wincing at the thought of being photographed. Taking pictures is something Ihave always loved and my family gets to be the focus of that love. As a result of that, I have thousands of pictures of them and so many photo albums. We can look back and see the photos from when Jim and I were first married all the way through our ninth grandchild and what she was doing last night!

I can tell my stories with words, but there’s something about a photograph and actually seeing the setting of a photo that gives so much more depth to that story.

So, I don’t just want to talk to you about my photographic EE Blogrecording of my story, but I want to encourage you to do the same. I know you’re not a photographer and probably don’t own a camera like mine, but you do have your phone … it’s amazing that we can all have a camera with us at all times these days! If you don’t already, it’s time to start snapping shots of those moments of you and your loved ones, or of those pretty flowers you’re growing in your garden, or of whatever brings you pleasure. Believe me, someone will enjoy getting to know you more through these photos.

Once you’ve taken those pictures, put them somewhere … on your phone, they may just get lost in space. There are so many options of what you can do with your photos.

  • Share them on Social Media such as Facebook or Instagram
  • Print prints
  • Make a book or books through an online company
  • Create a scrapbook
  • Create a blog online just for sharing your photos

ChatbooksA long time ago I use to create scrapbook photo albums. Those were so much fun, but also took a really long time to put together. These days you can just upload your pictures to Shutterfly or Snapfish or so many other websites. They will create a book for you once you make a few selections on your style preference. If that’s a bit much for you and you use social media, there are other companies out there like Chatbooks and others that will take the photos you upload and create a book that they will send out to you monthly.

The idea is to just record your life. I’m so interested in the life of my family. There are some pictures out there from my Dad’s side of the family and just a few from my Mom’s side. I would love to have an album full of photos that would tell me their story.

So, pull out your phone and get started! Let me know if you have questions or need a little extra help. 🙂

Carolyn

Leave a Reply

